About Us


Founded in 2003 in Podgorica (Montenegro), the Montenegrin Sports Academy (MSA) is a sports scientific society dedicated to the collection, generation and dissemination of scientific knowledge at the Montenegrin level and beyond.

Objective & Purpose

The Montenegrin Sports Academy (MSA) is the leading association of sports scientists at the Montenegrin level, which maintains extensive co-operation with the corresponding associations from abroad. The purpose of the MSA is the promotion of science and research, with special attention to sports science across Montenegro and beyond. Its topics include motivation, attitudes, values and responses, adaptation, performance and health aspects of people engaged in physical activity and the relation of physical activity and lifestyle to health, prevention and aging. These topics are investigated on an interdisciplinary basis and they bring together scientists from all areas of sports science, such as adapted physical activity, biochemistry, biomechanics, chronic disease and exercise, coaching and performance, doping, education, engineering and technology, environmental physiology, ethics, exercise and health, exercise, lifestyle and fitness, gender in sports, growth and development, human performance and aging, management and sports law, molecular biology and genetics, motor control and learning, muscle mechanics and neuromuscular control, muscle metabolism and hemodynamics, nutrition and exercise, overtraining, physiology, physiotherapy, rehabilitation, sports history, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports philosophy, sports psychology, sports sociology, training and testing.


The MSA is a non-profit organization. It supports Montenegrin institutions, such as the Ministry of Education and Sports, the Ministry of Science and the Montenegrin Olympic Committee, by offering scientific advice and assistance for carrying out coordinated national and European research projects defined by these bodies. In addition, the MSA serves as the most important Montenegrin and regional network of sports scientists from all relevant subdisciplines.

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Montenegrin Sports Academy (MSA) is the promotion of sports science in an international, multi-cultural, multidisciplinary, as well as an interdisciplinary context.

The Montenegrin Sports Academy regards sport science as an integrator of the knowledge of human movement from the perspectives of natural sciences, medicine, social sciences and the humanities.

The Montenegrin Sports Academy recognizes that scientific excellence in sports science is based on disciplinary competence embedded in the understanding that its essence lies in its multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary character.

The Montenegrin Sports Academy represents and connects sports scientists in their research and supports dissemination of knowledge through the MSA annual conference and MSA Sports Science Journals.

The Montenegrin Sports Academy addresses the application of knowledge concerning sport science to sports competition, performance, improving health, well-being, fitness, and social relationships.

The Montenegrin Sports Academy provides scientific advice to the public and to political and private institutions.

The Montenegrin Sports Academy identifies and honors young and female researchers with outstanding achievements in any field of sports science.

The Montenegrin Sports Academy is associated with institutional and commercial partners that value scientific evidence in the design and distribution of products supporting sports activities.


The President is responsible for representing and promoting the Montenegrin Sports Academy (MSA):

  • Duško Bjelica (University of Montenegro, Montenegro)

Executive Board

The Executive Board is responsible for the administrative and corporate functions of the MSA.

Members of the Executive Board are:

  • Stevo Popović (Universitz of Montenegro, Montenegro)
  • Selçuk Akpınar (Nevşehir Hacı Bektaş Veli University, Turkey)
  • Yang Zhang (Chinese Badminton Association, China)
  • Pavel Opavsky (Montenegrin sports Academy, Montenegro)
  • Zoran Milošević (University of Novi Sad, Serbia)

Scientific Board

The Scientific Board shall advise the Executive Board on all scientific matters in general and on conference submissions to the conferences in particular. It is a standing committee and may be created and dissolved by the Executive Board.

Members of the Scientific Board are:

  • Ana Maria Botelho Teixeira (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
  • Antonino Bianco (University of Palermo, Italy)
  • Asterios Deligiannis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece)
  • Beat Knechtle (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Bojan Jošt (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  • Carlos Goncaves (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
  • Daniela Dasheva (National sport academy “Vassil Levski”, Bulgaria)
  • David Kalaj  (University of Montenegro, Montenegro)
  • Elena Taina Avramescu (University of Craiova, Romania)
  • Ferman Konukman (Qatar University, Qatar)
  • Feza Korkusuz (Hacettepe University, Turkey)
  • Georgi Georgiev (University “Sv. Kiril i Metodije”, Macedonia)
  • George Giatsis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece)
  • Gregor Jurak (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  • Guilherme Giannini Artioli (University of São Paulo, Brasil)
  • Haris Pojskić (University of Tuzla, Bosnaa and Herzegovina)
  • Hugo Sarmento (Polytechnic Institute of Viseu, Spain)
  • Jan Konarski (Eugeniusz Piasecki University School of Physical Education, Poland)
  • Jonatan Ruiz Ruiz (University of Granada, Spain)
  • Joško Sindik (Institute for Anthropological Research, Croatia)
  • Jorge Knijnik (University of Western Sydney, Australia)
  • Juan Manuel Cortell Tormo (University of Alicante, Spain)
  • Julio Calleja-Gonzalez (University of the Basque Country, Spain)
  • Lateef O. Amusa (University of Venda, South Africa)
  • Leigh Robinson (University of Stirling, Scotland)
  • Ljubiša Stanković  (University of Montenegro, Montenegro
  • Mahboub Sheikhalizadeh Heris (Islamic Azad University, Iran)
  • Maike Tietjens (University of Münster, Germany)
  • Manuel J. Coelho-e-Silva (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
  • Michael Chia (Nanyang Technological University, Singapur)
  • Milan Čoh (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)
  • Morteza Jourkesh (Islamic Azad University, Iran)
  • Mustafa Levent Ince (Middle East Technical University, Turkey)
  • Nejc Šarabon (University of Primorska, Slovenia)
  • Sandra Mandić (University of Otago, Newi Zeland)
  • Praveen Kumar (Gulf Medical University, UAE)
  • Raúl Arellano (University of Granada, Spain)
  • Rusu Ligia (University of Craiova, Romania)
  • Sergej Ostojić (University of Belgrade, Serbia)
Copyright (c)2015-2016 by Montenegrin Sports Academy
Design by Boris Šundić